To travel is to live

Travel blog

Staycation at Westin Singapore

2 Comments

Chose Westin as the hotel for a staycation during audit peak period. Business hotel that comes with built-in desk and ergonomic desk chair in each room. With an established name, Westin is a hotel that I will like to try at least once in my life.

Westin Singapore is located at Asia Square. Few people know exactly where it is. It is at Asia Square 2 and you have to walk further down on the right when you are at the main open area (where cars pull in). Upon reaching, take the lift to level 32 as the hotel lobby is not located on the first floor.

image

When checking in, the front office associate asked whether I would like to have a glass of citrus water. Service is good as the associates greet their guests with a smile. Ok, expected for most hotels. The lobby itself is spectacular. I like the high ceiling and spacious concept. As of now, it boasts the highest hotel lobby in Singapore.

image

image

image

Was allocated a room at level 40. Westin covers level 32 to level 46 of Asia Square tower. Just the corridor itself already gives me the feeling of being in a 5-star hotel.

image

I requested for 3 key cards for the door access. Just need to tap the door open. The room I booked is Sea View.

image

This is how it looks like when you first enter. The bathroom is on the right when you enter, followed by the wardrobe.

image

image

This is where I did my work during ‘down-time’ of staycation. It was a comfortable spot.

image

Requested for 2 queen-sized beds. The first impression upon seeing the beds is that the beds are small. Nevertheless, Westin boasted its heavenly bed. The bed is soft and comfortable. However, my friends weren’t able to sleep well – probably not used to it.

image

image

There are 2 doors to the bathroom. One flaw that I noticed is that there is very little gap between the bed and the door to the bathroom. Probably it will be better with more allowance. Nonetheless, there is always the other door.

image

I was greeted by the bathtub, upon entering the bathroom.

image

I like the partition. There is rain shower.

image

image

First impression when looking through the floor-to-ceiling window is that the room offers more of a pool view rather than sea view. Ok, understand that it is supposed to be a partial sea view.
image
image

Infinity pool doesn’t look like one from top view. It does, when you are at level 35. Although it is a view I often saw when I worked at MBFC, it was still refreshing to soak in the pool and take in the view. The poolwater was chilling.
image

Had dinner at Lau Pa Sat at night. Was surprised that most of my friends were not aware of the open area where you can have your meals. The road in front of SGX centre and Sofitel is blocked off at night and tables and chairs are set up. It is an idea place for a group of friends/ family to chill at and have dinner. As that area ‘belongs’ to the Malay stalls, you have to order satay first before ordering food from the Chinese and Indian stalls.

As my friend’s birthday was upcoming, I made known this fact to the receptionist who arranged with the Guest Relations for complimentary desserts to be sent to our room. To our surprise, my friend also received a small handwritten birthday card. Awesome service they have.
image

Sorry that the photos below are dark. The gym, which is located on the same floor as the pool, has a decent number of sport equipments.
image
image

Here is the view from the gym.
image
image

There are also other facilities on the same floor, such as the club lounge, boardrooms.
image

The week before my staycation, I actually witnessed a proposal at Westin. The balloons were brought in by the future groom himself.
image
image

If I am not wrong, only a portion of the below was complimentary.
image

It was a fun proposal at Westin.

Overall, the stay at Westin Singapore was satisfactory. Will definitely like to try other Starwood brands.

Author: Adalyn

This is for me to know, for you to find out.

2 thoughts on “Staycation at Westin Singapore

  1. Do you need a keycard to access the pool or lift? I want to stay there but my friends don’t so wondering if I could let them into the pool. Thanks 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

