To travel is to live

Travel blog

Stopover at Tokyo

Leave a comment

United Airline flight had a transit at Tokyo from Houston before going to Singapore. Hence, I had a really, really short stay at Tokyo. Would be back to experience Tokyo fully next time!

I was exhausted from the 14 hour flight from Houston but was determined to go on budget in Tokyo. It was yet another 2 hours from Narita international airport to Shibuya, where I chose to stay. Took the Keisei line to Nippori station, transferred to JR on Yamanote and alighted at Shibuya station. Total cost was only 1,230 yen.

I booked the cheapest, most convenient and comfortable hotel I could find near the Shibuya station. Paid for about S$100 per night. It was about 850m walk from Shibuya station to the hotel.  Not exactly a pleasant one with my luggage but the journey back was much better, probably because I became more familiar with the area. Google map was my navigator.

APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue was better than expected because the single room I booked was bigger than I thought. Everybody had been telling me that there was barely room to walk or open luggage in Japan hotels. I was surprised to see sufficient room space. I had also imagined the bed to be really single bed but I felt that the bed could accommodate 2 people. It was definitely a comfortable stay!

image

image

image

image

image

Shibuya streets!

image

image

So I experienced Shibuya crossing whereby pedestrians from different directions crossed the roads at the same time. Something that wasn’t exactly exciting but it was still a tick off the bucket.

image

Now… random pictures!

image

Handphone case for Tsum Tsum fans!

image
Mos burger in Singapore is of good standard as compared to the one in Japan!

image

Didn’t know one can burn fats at Tokyu Hands. I climbed and started walking around on the highest floor only to find shoppers coming out from the lift.

image

image

An electronic Christmas tree

image

100 yen shop is my favourite.

image

Dinner

image

image

image

View from the building

image

image

Omakase lunch the next day

image

image

image

Boarded the Narita Express back to the airport.

image

image

Will be back again to immerse in Tokyo culture!

Author: Adalyn

This is for me to know, for you to find out.

Leave a Reply

